Whitworth Wins 12th Straight McIlroy-Lewis Trophy

Whitworth Wins 12th Straight McIlroy-Lewis Trophy

SPOKANE, Wash. – Whitworth University claimed its 12th consecutive Northwest Conference McIlroy-Lewis trophy with a 48-point margin of victory over runner-up George Fox University, according to the final 2018-19 standings released by the NWC office on Monday afternoon.

The Pirates have extended the league record for consecutive McIlroy-Lewis victories.  The NWC first McIlroy-Lewis Trophy in 1986.

Whitworth finished 2018-19 with 268 points in the standings, 48 points ahead of George Fox (220) and 58 ahead of Pacific Lutheran (210).

Click here for the official NWC release and scoring table.

The Pirates claimed NWC titles in three sports in 2018-19:  football, men’s swimming and baseball.  Whitworth was NWC runner-up in seven other sports: women’s cross country, volleyball, men’s basketball, softball, men’s golf, and both women’s and men’s track & field.  The Bucs got third place finishes from men’s cross country, women’s soccer, women’s swimming and women’s golf.  In all, 14 different Whitworth sports finished among the top three teams in the NWC.

“To win the McIlroy-Lewis trophy for the 12th consecutive year is a huge honor, especially considering the depth and competitiveness of the Northwest Conference,” said Tim Demant, Whitworth’s Director of Athletics.  “We take great pride in this award because it symbolizes excellence across all our sports and represents success all our student-athletes contributed to.”

The NWC All-Sports Trophy recognizes athletic excellence among conference institutions across all fields of competition. It is named in honor of John Lewis, Willamette University’s long-time baseball coach (1947-72), basketball coach (1947-67) and athletics director (1952- 72); and Jane McIlroy, Linfield College's women's athletics director and physical education professor from 1950- 82 who also coached field hockey (1952-81), basketball, volleyball, softball and tennis.

Whitworth never trailed in the 2018-19 trophy standings, holding the lead after both the fall and winter sports seasons.

Whitworth has now won the McIlroy-Lewis Trophy for 12 consecutive years and 13 times overall.  The Pirate Athletics Department first claimed the trophy in 2005 before starting the current streak in 2008.

2018-19 Final Whitworth Results – (Team, NWC Finish, Points)
Men’s Cross Country – 3rd place (14 points)
Women’s Cross Country – 2nd (16)
Men’s Soccer – 5th-tie (9)
Women’s Soccer –3rd (14)
Football – 1st (18)
Volleyball – 2nd (16)
Men’s Swimming – 1st (18)
Women’s Swimming – 3rd (14)
Men’s Basketball – 2nd (16)
Women’s Basketball – 4th-tie (11)
Baseball – 1st (18)
Softball – 2nd (16)
Men’s Tennis – 6th (8)
Women’s Tennis – 4th-tie (12)
Men’s Golf – 2nd (16)
Women’s Golf – 3rd (14)
Lacrosse – 6th-tie (6)
Men’s Track & Field – 2nd (16)
Women’s Track & Field – 2nd (16)

2018-19 NWC Sport Winners:
     George Fox (6) - Men's Cross Country, Women's Basketball, Women's Golf, Women's Lacrosse, Men's Track & Field, Women's Track & Field
     Pacific Lutheran (5) - Men's Cross Country, Men's Soccer, Women's Soccer, Women's Volleyball, Women's Rowing
     Whitman (5) - Men's Soccer, Women's Swimming, Men's Basketball, Women's Golf, Men's Tennis
     Whitworth (3) - Football, Men's Swimming, Baseball
     Linfield (2) - Softball, Women's Tennis
     Puget Sound (1) - Women's Soccer
     Willamette (2) - Women's Cross Country, Men’s Golf

All-Time McIlroy-Lewis Trophy Wins (by school, since 1986)
15 – Pacific Lutheran
13 – Whitworth
3 – Linfield
2 – Puget Sound
1 – Willamette

Year-by-Year McIlroy-Lewis Trophy Winners
2018-19               Whitworth
2017-18                Whitworth
2016-17                Whitworth
2015-16                Whitworth
2014-15                Whitworth
2013-14                Whitworth
2012-13                Whitworth
2011-12                Whitworth
2010-11                Whitworth
2009-10                Whitworth
2008-09                Whitworth
2007-08                Whitworth
2006-07                Puget Sound
2005-06                Puget Sound
2004-05                Whitworth
2003-04                Linfield
2002-03                Linfield
2001-02                Pacific Lutheran
2000-01                Linfield
1999-00                Pacific Lutheran
1998-99                Pacific Lutheran
1997-98                Pacific Lutheran
1996-97                Pacific Lutheran
1995-96                Pacific Lutheran
1994-95                Pacific Lutheran
1993-94                Willamette
1992-93                Pacific Lutheran
1991-92                Pacific Lutheran
1990-91                Pacific Lutheran
1989-90                Pacific Lutheran
1988-89                Pacific Lutheran
1987-88                Pacific Lutheran
1986-87                Pacific Lutheran
1985-86                Pacific Lutheran