Pirate Women Earn Second Straight NWC Crown

Pirate Women Earn Second Straight NWC Crown

BROOKS, Ore. – The Whitworth women's cross country team earned a first place finish (42 points) at the Northwest Conference Championships on the back of Pirate standout Kayla Leland who finished with a time of 21:14.4. Olivia Manci finished first overall, crossing the line at 20:53.8. 

The Whitworth women won their second straight NWC title. Allison Wood came across second for the Pirates and fourth overall with a time of 22:12.6. Just behind Wood, with a time of 22:13.0 was junior Bailey Scott. In 12th place, Thais Pedro Trujillo (22:39.3) was the fourth Whitworth runner to cross the line and Sara Dawes was the last runner to earn points in Whitworth's first place finish, coming in 19th place with a time of 22:59.7. 

Toby Schwarz was named Northwest Conference Women's Coach of the Year. 

The men's cross country team came in fourth place with a score of 118. Willamette won the meet for the men with 36 points. Grant Bingham crossed the line first for the Pirates and fifth overall with a time of 25:55.4, a new personal record. In 13th place, Daniel Harper was the second Whitworth runner to cross the finish line with a time of 26:21.2. Gabriel Meek (26:37.7) finished in 20th place followed by Nathaniel Anderson who came in 29th place with a time of 26:57.5. The last Pirate to earn points was Brian Ault with a time of 28:01.8 and a 55th place finish. 

Coming Up: The Whitworth cross country teams will return to Bush Pasture Park in Salem, Ore. for the second time to compete in the NCAA Div. III West Regional on Saturday, Nov. 12.