ITA Honors Whitworth Women's Tennis

SPOKANE, Wash. - The Whitworth University women's tennis squad, like the Pirate men, has been selected as an Intercollegiate Tennis Association All-Academic Team and seven team members were recognized individually for academic success by the organization.

The Whit women joined 77 other schools on the 2012 list of NCAA Division III women's tennis teams with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.20 or above. Whitworth was one of only two teams on the list from the Northwest Conference.

To qualify as an ITA Scholar Athlete, the individual player must have a cumulative GPA of 3.50 through the spring semester and must have played the entire year with his team. Seven Pirates qualified for the ITA Scholar Athlete list. They are: Siri Carlson, Claire Hemming, Janell Talbot (Lum), Alli Marshall, Morgan McDivitt, Saryn Mooney, and Megan Wingfield.