Men's Swimming Tops Whitman, Pirate Women Fall

Men's Swimming Tops Whitman, Pirate Women Fall

SPOKANE, Wash. – The Whitworth men's swimming team completed an undefeated Northwest Conference season with a 157.5 – 102.5 win over visiting Whitman College on Saturday at the Whitworth Aquatic Center.  The Pirate women fell to the Blues 143-119.

Whitworth's men finished the NWC dual meet schedule 7-0 and now set their sights on the Northwest Conference championships in two weeks.  The Pirate women finished 2-5 in the NWC.

Keenan Robinson won two individual events to lead Whitworth's men, who took first place in 10 of the 14 races.  Robinson won the 1,650-yard freestyle in 17:29.84 and won the 500-yard freestyle in 5:02.97.

Bryron Rossmiller turned in the performance of the day.  He set a Whitworth Aquatic Center record while winning the 200-yard backstroke.  His time of 1:52.81 broke the previous pool record of 1:52.97.

Patrick Wilber, Owen Lempert and Eben Schumann were all on the winning 200-yard medley relay in the meet's first event and then went on to win an individual race.  That trio, along with George Gonzales, posted a winning time of 1:35.31 in the medley relay. 

Wilber won the 100-yard backstroke in 51.62 while Lempert took the 100-yard breaststroke in 59.91.  Schumann raced to a win in the 100-yard butterfly (51.75). 

Ryan Grady finished first in the 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 2:10.05.  He took second to defending NWC champion Clark Sun of Whitman in the 200-yard freestyle by seven-tenths of a second.  The times were 1:44.00 – 1:44.71. 

Tyler Melsheimer won the 200-yard butterfly (2:01.04) for Whitworth while Jake Davies took the 200-yard individual medley (1:59.36). 

Whitworth's women won six events, but the underdog Pirates were right with the unbeaten Blues until the final events of the meet.

Whitworth's women won the opening 200-yard medley relay.  Hannah Galbraith, Jamie Siegler, Emma Boles and Megan Thompson posted a time of 1:53.33.

Siegler went on to win two individual races, sweeping both breaststrokes.  She won the 100 in 1:10.07 and the 200 in 2:30.12.

Thompson won the 200 freestyle in 1:58.49 while Galbraith claimed the 200 backstroke in 2:09.74.  Whitworth's final win came in the 200 butterfly by Marissa Gibson (2:21.66).

The NWC Championships will take place Feb. 9-11 at the King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Washington.