Five Pirates Headed to NCAA Swimming Championships

Five Pirates Headed to NCAA Swimming Championships

SPOKANE, Wash. – Five Whitworth Pirates are headed to the 2012 NCAA Division III Men's and Women's Swimming Championships which will take place March 21-24 in Indianapolis, Indiana.  The official list of entries was released today.

Rory Buck, Nathan Ranno, Aaron Vaccaro and Wes Welton will represent the Whitworth men, while Kate Duvall returns to swim for the Pirate women.

Whitworth's quartet of men will compete in four relays: 200-yard medley, 200-yard freestyle, 400-yard medley and 400-yard freestyle.

Rory Buck is back to defend his NCAA Division III titles in the 100- and 200-yard breaststroke events.  He is the NCAA Division III record-holder in the 200 distance and was selected as the NCAA Division III Men's Swimmer of the Year in 2011.

Wes Welton will also swim three individual events for the men: the 200-yard individual medley along with the 100-yard and 200-yard backstrokes. 

Aaron Vaccaro will swim the 100-yard butterfly in addition to the four relays.  Nathan Ranno will be competing in only the four relay races for the Pirates.

Click here for more information about the NCAA Division III men's championships.

Kate Duvall gets a chance to duplicate or improve on her All-American finish in the 200-yard backstroke from 2011.  She will also race in the 100-yard backstroke and the 500-yard freestyle.

Click here for more information about the 2012 women's championships.

The championships are taking place at the IU Natatorium, one of the country's most famous and historic swimming facilities.