Pirate Men Claim NABC Academic Honors

Pirate Men Claim NABC Academic Honors

SPOKANE, Wash. – Six Whitworth University men's basketball players have been named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Honors Court and the entire team earned an Academic Excellence award.

The NABC announced its annual academic awards this week.

The NABC Team Academic Excellence Awards recognize outstanding academic achievement by a team with a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or better for the 2012-13 season.  Whitworth made the list with a cumulative GPA of 3.51.  The Pirates were one of two schools from the Northwest Conference to make the list.

In addition, six different Whitworth players were selected to the NABC Honors Court, recognizing those collegiate basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics during the 2012-13 season.  In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria. The qualifications are as follows:  1. Academically a junior or senior and a varsity player; 2. Cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2012-13 academic year; 3. Students must have matriculated at least one full year at their current institution; 4. Member must be an NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Division I or II institution.

The six Whitworth players to make the list are: Taylor Farnsworth (Jr./So., Accounting); Wade Gebbers (Sr., Business Management); Mack Larkin (Sr., Psychology); Colton McCargar (Jr., Business); Dustin McConnell (Jr., Kinesiology); and Matt Roth (Jr., Kinesiology).

The Pirates went 26-4 in 2012-13 and won the Northwest Conference regular season championship for the fourth straight year with a record of 14-2.  Whitworth earned a seventh straight trip to the NCAA Division III tournament where the Bucs advanced to (at least) the round of 16 for the fifth time in school history.