Friedt Named Josten's Award Finalist

Friedt Named Josten's Award Finalist

SPOKANE, Wash. – Whitworth senior post Felix Friedt has been named one of ten men's finalists for the 2012 Josten's Trophy, according to the list released today by the Rotary Club of Salem, Va.

Friedt has already been named a 2012 First Team Capital One Academic All-American® and was selected First Team All-Northwest Conference.  He is an international business major with a grade point average of 3.97 and has led the 7th-ranked Pirates (24-3) to their third straight Northwest Conference championship and sixth straight NWC tournament title.

The Jostens Trophy is awarded to an outstanding Division III men's and women's basketball player who excels on the floor, in the classroom and in the community.

Friedt is second on the Pirates in scoring average (16.0 ppg), while making 58.1% of his shots from the field. He is first in the Northwest Conference in rebounding average (8.8). Friedt devastates opponents by drawing fouls and making free throws. Not only is he second in the NWC in free throw percentage (81.9%), he has made more free throws (163) than all but one other player in the league has even attempted. Friedt leads the conference with 13 double-doubles this season.

He been named NWC Men's Basketball Student-Athlete of the Week twice - first on December 6th and then on January 10th.

He has 1,059 career points and became the 22nd player in Whitworth history to surpass the 1,000 career point total during the game at Whitman on February 14th.

Over the course of his three seasons as a starter, Whitworth has won three NWC championships.  He leads the Pirates into this week's NCAA Division III tournament, beginning with a first round game on Friday night against McMurry (Texas).

The Jostens Trophy is a national award created by the Rotary Club of Salem, Va., to honor the most outstanding men's and women's Division III basketball players of the year. The award takes into account three vital parts: basketball ability, academic prowess and community service. The trophy models the Rotary International motto of "Service Above Self" by recognizing those who truly fit the ideal of the well-rounded Division III student-athlete. This year's class marks the 15th year the award has been presented.

Listed below are the 10 finalists for the 2012 Jostens Trophy:

Men's finalists                                                          Women's finalists
Seth Anderson, Gustavus Adolphus                        Sharwil Bell, Rhodes
Matt Carr, WPI                                                         Carol Cayo, Milwaukee Engineering
Felix Friedt, Whitworth                                             Alexandra Chili, Muhlenberg
Matt Johnson, Chicago                                             Sarah Condra, Franklin
Spencer Liddic, Muhlenberg                                      Erin Hollinger, Case Western Reserve
Tim McCrary, Wheaton (Ill.)                                      Christine Marks, Misericordia
Ryan Sharry, Middlebury                                           Brittany Sedlock, St. Vincent
Aaron Van Klaveren, Cal Lutheran                            Taylor Simpson, Chicago
Aris Wurtz, Ripon                                                      Caroline Stedman, Amherst
Jordan Zimmer, Illinois Wesleyan                              Carissa Verkaik, Calvin

The winners will be notified on March 8.  The awards presentation is scheduled for Thursday, March 15 at the Salem Civic Center in conjunction with the Men's Division III Championship being hosted in Salem, Va., on March 16-17.